

April 15, 2021

The Honorable Deb Haaland Department of the Interior 1849 C Street, N.W. Washington DC 20240

Dear Secretary Haaland:

We write in support of the Antiquities Act and the critical role it plays in protecting our nation's most important and endangered places.

Since 1906, sixteen presidents have used the Antiquities Act to protect places across our nation. From Chaco Canyon in New Mexico to Harriet Tubman's house in Maryland, the Antiquities Act has long protected key landscapes and historical sites. National monuments protect our most precious natural, cultural, and historical resources, and threats to the integrity of any monuments established under the Antiquities Act threaten the protection of all monuments.

During your confirmation process, you committed to undertaking a thorough review of the Antiquities Act proclamations of the previous Administration. Former President Trump illegally attempted to reduce the protections provided by proclamations that previous presidents issued. We urge you to defend the Antiquities Act and recommend that President Biden review President Trump's actions and undo any unlawful attacks on the Antiquities Act.

We thank you for your commitment to the conservation of our nation's most important places and history.

Sincerely,

/s/ Martin Heinrich Martin Heinrich United States Senator

/s/ Richard J. Durbin Richard J. Durbin United States Senator /s/ Ben Ray Luján

Ben Ray Luján United States Senator

/s/ Elizabeth Warren

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator /s/ Richard Blumenthal Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

## /s/ Ron Wyden

Ron Wyden United States Senator

/s/ Cory A. Booker Cory A. Booker United States Senator

## /s/ Alex Padilla

Alex Padilla United States Senator

/s/ Tim Kaine

Tim Kaine United States Senator

## /s/ Michael F. Bennet

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

/s/ Sherrod Brown Sherrod Brown United States Senator

/s/ Jacky Rosen

Jacky Rosen United States Senator /s/ Edward J. Markey Edward J. Markey United States Senator

/s/ Tina Smith

Tina Smith United States Senator

/s/ Mazie K. Hirono Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

/s/ Brian Schatz Brian Schatz United States Senator

/s/ Chris Van Hollen Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

## /s/ Jeanne Shaheen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

/s/ Catherine Cortez Masto Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator