

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

August 6, 2020

The Honorable Wilbur L. Ross Secretary U.S. Department of Commerce 1401 Constitution Ave., N.W. Washington, DC 20230

Dear Secretary Ross:

We write to express our deep concern and opposition to the Administration's decision to end Census field data collection activities by September 30 – one month earlier than previously planned. This self-imposed curtailment of operations will have a devastating impact on the accuracy and completeness of the Decennial Census.

The Decennial Census has faced unique challenges due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). With field operations delayed and reduced significantly in order to help ensure the safety of respondents and Census employees, ending operations early will make an accurate and complete count impossible.

This appears to be yet another effort to sabotage a successful Census, which include the Administration's earlier attempts to add an unnecessary and divisive citizenship question and the recent issuance of a memorandum seeking to exclude undocumented immigrants for apportionment purposes. Ending operations early, especially Nonresponse Follow Up, will disproportionately disadvantage hard-to-count communities.

A full accounting of everyone present in the United States is required by the Constitution and is critical to the allocation of trillions of dollars of federal funding and proper Congressional apportionment. Data derived from the Decennial Census influences decisions made across all levels of government and by businesses of all sizes. Rushing the completion of the Census, distorting response rates, and short-circuiting data assurance activities will have disastrous consequences that will reverberate for years to come.

As such, we urge you to immediately reverse this decision and take all necessary steps to ensure a full, fair, and accurate Decennial Census.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,

United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

Lillibran

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

uch

Joe Manchin III **United States Senator**

Kamala D. Harris United States Senator

Shimkood Ryows)

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator



Angus S. King Jr.

United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

/s/

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen / United States Senator

m Wyden

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Martin Heinrich

United States Senator

Jon Corper Thomas R. Carper

United States Senator

n

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

/s/ Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Cardin

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator