Skip to content

New Puerto Rico statehood bill introduced in the House

A group of 51 Congress members, 14 of them Republicans, co-sponsored a pro-statehood measure that has not yet been submitted to the Senate

Washington, D.C. - With a total of 51 original co-sponsors, Democrat Darren Soto (Florida) introduced yesterday the new bill in favor of Puerto Rico becoming the 51st state of the United States, setting in motion a process with which Governor Pedro Pierluisi intends to find out if Congress is willing to grant statehood to the island.