Skip to content

N.M. Congressional Delegation Welcomes Biden Administration, FEMA Waiving Certain Non-Federal Cost-Shares For Wildfire Disaster Assistance

WASHINGTON (June 11, 2022) – Today, in response to calls from U.S. Senators Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) and Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.) and U.S. Representatives Teresa Leger Fernández (D-N.M.), Melanie Stansbury (D-N.M.), and Yvette Herrell (D-N.M.), President Joe Biden announced that his administration will waive the 25% non-federal cost-share for Categories A and B under the Major Disaster Declaration assistance he approved for New Mexico in wake of severe wildfires. The New Mexico congressional delegationrequested this cost-share waiver on May 4. 

President Biden made the announcement today when he met with the lawmakers at the New Mexico State Emergency Operations Center in Santa Fe.

The federal share for Category A (debris removal) and Category B (emergency protective measures) including direct federal assistance has been increased to 100% of the total eligible costs for the first 90 days of the incident period.

Category B (emergency Protective measures) can provide funding for emergency work, including procuring equipment and supplies for responders, supporting evacuation requirements such as traffic control and sheltering residents, pre-positioning resources to support the response, and establishing field camps and meals for responders.

This week, the Biden administration also approved a request to expand federal assistance eligibilities for Categories C-G for Colfax, Mora, and San Miguel Counties.

Additional key attendees of today’s meeting:

  • U.S. Department of Interior Secretary Deb Haaland
  • Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency Administrator Deanne Criswell
  • Navajo Nation President Jonathan Nez

Additional background: