Skip to content

Udall, Heinrich Sponsor Resolution to Recognize November as Native American Heritage Month

WASHINGTON – Today, Senators Tom Udall (D-N.M.), vice chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, and Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), introduced a Senate resolution to designate November as Native American Heritage Month.

“This resolution recognizing November as Native American Heritage Month honors the countless ways Native American have shaped New Mexico and our national identity. It also challenges us to examine how we can better stand with Tribes to meet our trust and treaty obligations,” Udall said. “As vice-chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, I am proud to represent the 23 Tribes from my home state of New Mexico and all Tribes across the country. It is an honor to work with Tribal leaders, Native communities, and people on both sides of the aisle to strengthen Tribal sovereignty, self-determination, and self-governance each day.”

“Native American Heritage Month is a time for us to celebrate and honor the unique cultural heritage and remarkable contributions of Native communities,” said Heinrich. “I take pride in representing and working closely with New Mexico’s tribal communities and this resolution is a promise to continue these treasured relations. I look forward to continuing our work to protect tribal sovereignty and ensure that the federal government meets its trust responsibility to our tribes.”

In addition to Udall and Heinrich, 29 additional senators joined as original co-sponsors of the resolution: John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Angus King (D-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Martha McSally (R-Ariz.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).

The full text of the resolution can be found HERE.