Heinrich To Host Teleconference With Reporters On Wildfire Funding Reform

WASHINGTON, D.C. - As New Mexico enters wildfire season, U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich (D-N.M) will hold a press teleconference call today, Tuesday, May 5, at 2:30 p.m. MT / 4:30 p.m. ET to discuss his effort to overhaul federal wildfire policy to boost funding for fire prevention and treat the largest wildfires as natural disasters.

The senator will also comment on today's U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources hearing on the federal government's role in wildfire management, impact of fires on communities, and potential fire operation improvements.

***Information below is for members of the press interested in participating in today's teleconference. Please RSVP to press@heinrich.senate.gov***

WHO:  U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich

WHAT:  Teleconference with reporters on wildfire funding reform

WHEN:  TODAY, Tuesday, May 5, from 2:30-2:45 p.m. MT / 4:30-4:45 p.m. ET