Skip to content

Eddy County receives $3.6M in PILT program

Eddy County led the state in fiscal year 2018 Payment in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) funding.

According to a news release from U.S. Sen. Tom Udall's Office, Eddy County received $3.598 million.

Following closely in fundinger were Otero County, which  received $3.597 and Rio Arriba County which received $3.23 million.

Eddy County was awarded $89,000 more than in FY 17. A total of $42.6 million was awarded statewide, which is an increase from $38.5 million the previous year.

The funding is distributed to counties to use for roads, public safety and schools.

"I am very pleased to see an increase for the state overall," Udall said. "New Mexico is proud to host our military bases, national monuments and other facilities that support our economy and generate tourism in our state. But local governments need budget certainty to ensure that all New Mexicans receive consistent basic services. We currently fund PILT year by year, but that isn't good enough."

PILT funding is distributed by the U.S. Department of Interior and based on population, receipt sharing payment and federal lands within a county.

Federal lands include the National Forest and National Park systems, lands in the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Refuge system, and areas managed by the Bureau of Land Management.

"Rural communities across New Mexico rely on PILT funds to provide for emergency response, maintain roads and bridges, and support local jobs," said U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich. "I’m glad we were successful in securing funding for this year’s payments, but we still need permanent funding for PILT to give counties in New Mexico more long-term predictability."

FY 2018 PILT funding

Bernalillo County: $238,335

Catron County: $639,528

Chaves County: $3,225,294

Cibola County: $2,110,699

Colfax County: $197,367

De Baca County: $110,516

Dona Ana County: $3,189,584

Eddy County: $3,598,621

Grant County: $2,558,024

Guadalupe County: $162,226

Harding County: $116,768

Hildago County: $739,903

Lea County: $1,128,578

Lincoln County: $1,889,698

Los Alamos County: $93,625

Luna County: $1,999,158

McKinley County: $1,094,772

Mora County: $306,596

Otero County: $3,597,259

Quay County: $4,840

Rio Arriba County: $3,232,674

Roosevelt County: $28,709

San Juan County: $2,316,470

San Miguel County: $1,040,459

Sandoval County: $2,416,206

Santa Fe County: $812,453

Sierra County: $1,336,642

Socorro County: $1,735,241

Taos County: $2,036,719

Torrance County: $425,806

Union County:  $155,864

Valencia County: $91,858

State total: $42,630,492