Skip to content

N.M. Delegation Announces President's Approval Of Major Disaster Declaration For New Mexico

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) and Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.) and U.S. Representatives Teresa Leger Fernández (D-N.M.), Melanie Stansbury (D-N.M.), and Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.) announced that President Joe Biden has approved a Major Disaster Declaration for New Mexico in the wake of severe wildfires.

Today, the entire New Mexico Congressional delegation sent a letter to President Biden, urging the administration to approve the request. 

New Mexico’s Congressional delegation is also calling on the Biden administration to waive the 25% non-federal cost share requirement for federal assistance.

The Major Disaster Declaration will open up access to Public Assistance and Individual Assistance funds from FEMA. Public Assistance supports the restoration and reconstruction of public infrastructure and lands. Individual Assistance supports families from losses suffered due to the fires.

Public Assistance, Category A and B, including Direct Federal Assistance will be available for Colfax, Lincoln, Mora, Valencia, and San Miguel counties, as well as Individual Assistance, including Small Business Agency Disaster Loan Assistance, for Colfax, Lincoln, Mora, Valencia, and San Miguel counties.