NM Counties To Receive $34 Million In PILT Payments For Police, Fire And Schools

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Tom Udall and Martin Heinrich today announced counties in New Mexico will receive approximately $34 million through the 2013 Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) program. A full list of the funding by county is included below.

PILT is administered through the Department of the Interior and provides funding for mostly rural counties that have a limited ability to levy taxes due to the amount of federal property in their jurisdiction, including Bureau of Land Management land, national parks and forests and military bases. PILT funding is used to provide vital police and fire services and also goes towards local schools, housing and transportation.

"PILT payments are important to New Mexico and I'm glad to see these payments continue for our rural communities," Udall said. "As a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee I will be doing everything I can to ensure PILT is fully funded into the future so our county governments can continue providing critical services to their residents." 

“PILT funding helps maintain the economic strength of our rural communities by providing safer roads, better schools, and thousands of local jobs," Heinrich said. "While New Mexico’s share of PILT funding would have been higher without sequestration, I am pleased this program is helping counties provide critical services on which New Mexicans rely.”

The President’s fiscal year 2014 budget proposes to extend mandatory full funding for the PILT for another year while a sustainable long-term funding solution is developed. Udall was a cosponsor of the County Payments Reauthorization Act of 2011, a bipartisan bill led by former Senator Jeff Bingaman that would guarantee full funding of the PILT program for five additional years.

According to the Interior Department, the annual PILT payments are computed based on the number of acres of federal entitlement land within each county or jurisdiction and the population of that county or jurisdiction. The lands include the National Forest and National Park Systems, the areas managed by the Bureau of Land Management, those affected by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and Bureau of Reclamation water resource development projects, and others.

New Mexico - Local Unit of Government (FY 2013 Payment)

Bernalillo County - $193,796

Catron County - $593,448

Chaves County - $2,860,983 

Cibola County - $1,693,192   

Colfax County - $139,492 

De Baca Country - $100,654

Dona Ana County - $2,843,049 

Eddy County - $3,168,147

Grant County- $1,837,491

Guadalupe County - $148,561

Harding County - $111,861

Hidalgo County - $703,549

Lea County - $1,009,074 

Lincoln County - $1,536,831 

Los Alamos County - $83,130

Luna County - $1,779,759

McKinley County - $826,620 

Mora County - $188,703 

Otero County Commission - $2,824,773

Quay County - $4,314 

Rio Arriba County - $1,969,904

Roosevelt County - $25,747

San Juan County - $ 2,062,957 

San Miguel County - $759,971 

Sandoval County - $2,197,580

Santa Fe County - $668,483

Sierra County - $1,056,769 

Socorro County - $1,245,613 

Taos County - $1,559,822 

Torrance County - $285,005 

Union County - $139,764 

Valencia County - $73,952 

State Total - $34,692,967