N.M. Delegation Urges Eligible Local Governments To Apply For Emergency Supplemental Assistance

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Tom Udall and Martin Heinrich, and U.S. Representatives Ben Ray Luján, Deb Haaland, and Xochitl Torres Small are urging eligible municipalities, counties, and tribes to seek federal assistance for coronavirus (COVID-19) response equipment, supplies, and practices through the Department of Justice’s (DOJ) Coronavirus Emergency Supplemental Funding (CESF) Program. This funding was secured in the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, emergency legislation the New Mexico delegation recently voted for.

CESF Program funds must be utilized to prevent, prepare for, and respond to the coronavirus. Projects and purchases include, but are not limited to, overtime, equipment including law enforcement and medical personal protective equipment, hiring, supplies such as gloves, masks, sanitizer, training, travel expenses and addressing the medical needs of detainees and inmates in state, local, and tribal prisons, jails, and detention centers.

“We are urging eligible counties, municipalities, and tribes in New Mexico to strongly consider the application process as one way to strengthen COVID-19 response efforts in their communities,” the delegation said. “We will continue to be in close communication with federal, state, Tribal and local agencies and are working to ensure that our state has the resources it needs to protect public health and provide some economic stability for our communities.”

Funds will be awarded to local government units that were identified as eligible for funding under the Fiscal Year (FY) 2019 State and Local Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program. For the list of State Administering Agencies in New Mexico that are eligible for funding, click here.

For more information, registration, and submission steps on how to apply, click here. The deadline for applications is 11:59 p.m. ET/ 9:59 p.m. MT on May 29, 2020.