Heinrich Cosponsors Resolution To Restore FCC's Net Neutrality Rules

CRA resolution would reinstate robust net neutrality protections and the Open Internet Order

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) announced that he will be joining a group of 15 Senators in introducing a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution that would reinstate robust net neutrality protections and the 2015 Open Internet Order. Yesterday, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) voted along party lines to approve Chairman Ajit Pai's proposal that guts the Open Internet Order, which the D.C. Circuit Court upheld in 2016. The Open Internet Order prohibited internet service providers from setting up internet fast and slow lanes and ensured they could not block or slow down internet traffic.

“As a staunch supporter of net neutrality, I'm appalled that the FCC is choosing to ignore the comments of millions of Americans, including many from New Mexico, who want to keep these protections in place. This is another example of the Trump administration ignoring the will of the American people and doing away with commonsense protections,” said Senator Heinrich This decision will be challenged in court, Congress and by voters.  I'm proud to join this effort to correct the Commission’s misguided and partisan decision and fight for rules that ensure free speech, protect consumers, and preserve competition.”

The resolution of disapproval would rescind FCC Chairman Ajit Pai’s item and fully restore the Open Internet Order. CRA resolutions allow Congress to overturn regulatory actions at federal agencies with a simple majority vote in both chambers. In accordance with the Congressional Review Act, the Senators will formally introduce the resolution once the rule is submitted to both houses of Congress and published in the federal register.

Congressman Mike Doyle (D-Penn.) plans to introduce a CRA resolution in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The resolution led by Senator Ed Markey (D-Mass.) is also co-sponsored by Senators Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii.), Richard Blumenthal (D–Conn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), and Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.). 

A copy of the CRA is available here.